Yesterday-Today-and-Tomorrow plant (Brunfelsia pauciflora)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Yesterday-Today-and-Tomorrow plant is a shrub grown for its flowers which bloom as purple then change to lavender and fade into white. All three colors can be found all at once when the plant is in full bloom. The variety I have has fragrant flowers.

This plant becomes dramatic when in bloom. Below is a picture of the shrub in our front yard. A few weeks ago we had to uproot it to give way to another plant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We have another one of this shrub in one corner of our garden anyway. I prune it occasionally to keep it compact and dense. I seldom fertilize it but it looks healthy. I guess it likes the spot where it is planted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Around its base, underground runners form and can be transplanted as new plants. This is how I propagate our shrub. I have tried it from cuttings but I had no luck. So far I have three seedlings grown from runners.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will try to use one of them as a bonsai material. Its trunks and branches has a natural movement so I think it will work…

This entry was posted in Bonsai Plant Material, Easy to Grow Plants, Flowering Shrub, Plants with Scented Flowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yesterday-Today-and-Tomorrow plant (Brunfelsia pauciflora)

  1. gab reyes says:

    Hi! Do you know where i can get yesterday today and tomorrow plant? Been looking for one but unfortunately no luck thanks! Btw nice site!

  2. Sorry for the late reply but try the garden shops at Quezon Memorial Circle. I also have 2 plants available.

Leave a comment